Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Picture
Julie Reese (staff)'s picture

Shared Collection Development: Collaborative Models for Digital Collections, an ALCTS Virtual Preconference

Shared Collection Development: Collaborative Models for Digital Collections,” runs June 10 through June 11, 2013.  Registration is now open. 

This two-day virtual preconference provides an overview of collection development for shared electronic resource collections. The first session describes a consortium eBook demand-driven acquisitions project from the perspective of a library vendor and the consortium. The second session addresses special considerations related to developing and licensing shared electronic resource collections.

This virtual preconference is comprised of two online sessions.

Monday, June 10 - Demand-Driven Acquisitions for a Shared eBook Collection: The Colorado Alliance Experience
This session will be 90 minutes, beginning at at noon Pacific, 1pm Mountain, 2pm Central, 3pm Eastern.

Presented by Barbara Kawecki, MLS, Senior Digital Content Sales Manager, Western U.S. and Western Canada, YBP Library Services, and Michael Levine-Clark, Associate Dean for Scholarly Communication and Collections Services, Penrose Library, University of Denver.

Tuesday, June 11 - eResource Sharing: Getting Buy With a Little Help from Your Friends 
This session will be 60 minutes, beginning at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, 2pm Eastern.
Presented by Athena Hoeppner, Electronic Resources Librarian, John C. Hitt Library, University of Central Florida Libraries.

 

Register through ALA Online Learning.

 

Registration fee for all sessions: $62 for ALCTS members, $80 for non-members and $168 for groups. 

 

Single session fee: $39 for ALCTS members, $49 for non-members, $99 for groups.  As always, ALCTS webinars are free to LIS students. 

 

For more information visit the “Shared Collection Development" page on the ALCTS website.

 

If you have any questions, please contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Continuing Education, jreese@ala.org.

 

Also, check the ALCTS Web site for information on the ALCTS Virtual Preconference “Loan Agreements for Exhibits Material” that will run June 18-June 20.  Session topics will include Introduction to Loan Agreements, Conservation and Preservation Issues, and Case Study – Northwestern University Library.