Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Picture
Julie Reese (staff)'s picture

Loan Agreements for Exhibits Materials: The Basics, an ALCTS Virtual Preconference

 Loan Agreements for Exhibits Materials: The Basics,” runs June 18 through June 20, 2013.  All sessions begin at 11 a.m. Pacific, noon Mountain, 1 p.m. Central, and 2 p.m. Eastern time.  Registration is now open. 

Increasingly, libraries are loaning collection materials to other institutions for exhibit, Unlike museums, libraries are often unprepared for this complicated process. This virtual preconference will lay down the basic elements of a loan agreement, including legal and financial expectations of both parties and the care and preservation of the borrowed item. A case study will offer advice and tips on creating a loan agreement from scratch, as well as direct participants to existing resources. This virtual preconference is aimed at Library and archives administration, curators, special collections staff, and preservation/conservation staff.

This virtual preconference is comprised of three one-hour sessions.

 Tuesday, June 18 - “Introduction to Loan Agreements”
 
Presented by Kristina Bottomley, Registrar, Block Museum of Art, Northwestern University.

Wednesday, June 19 - “Conservation and Preservation Issues”
Presented by Tonia Grafakos, Conservation Librarian, Northwestern University Library.

Thursday, June 20 - “Case Study – Northwestern University Library”
Presented by
Sara Stigberg, Acting Art Collection Public Services Librarian, Northwestern University Library

Register through ALA Online Learning.

Registration fee for all sessions: $95 for ALCTS members, $118 for non-members and $258 for groups. 
Single session fee: $39 for ALCTS members, $49 for non-members, $99 for groups.  As always, ALCTS webinars are free to LIS students. 

For more information visit the "Loan Agreements" page on the ALCTS website.

If you have any questions, please contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Continuing Education, jreese@ala.org.

Also, watch for information on the ALCTS Virtual Preconference “Shared Collection Development: Collaborative Models for Digital Collections” coming this June.  Session topics will include Demand-Driven Acquisitions for a Shared eBook Collection and Electronic Resources - Shared Collections.