Warning message

ALA Connect User logins are disabled for a temporary "gray-out" period, to prevent new posts while we upgrade into the New Connect. This gray-out period will begin on March 26th, and the new site will be launched on April 25th.

Users can use Search to view public content. Logins will be reinstated and users can create new posts, upload files, etc. post launch.

Thank you for your patience in cooperation. Check out training resources and schedule at:

Or contact Julianna Kloeppel for training or Pam Akins with questions/concerns.
Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Michelle Baildon's picture

Diversity Council list of candidates for ALA Council, President-elect, & Treasurer

Dear colleagues,


The ALA Diversity Council, the representative body for ALA and ALA-affiliated organizations that promote the needs of traditionally underrepresented groups, compiles a list each year of members of our constituent organizations who are running for ALA Council, President-elect, and Treasurer.

These organizations include:

  • American Indian Library Association (AILA)
  • Asian Pacific Librarians Association (APALA)
  • Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA)
  • Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA)
  • REFORMA (the national association to promote library and information services to Latinos and the Spanish speaking)
  • Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender Round Table (GLBTRT), and
  • the following interest groups of the Association of Specialized and Cooperative Library Agencies (ASCLA):
    • Alzheimer's & Related Dementias Interest Group
    • LSSP (Libraries Serving Special Populations) Bridging Deaf Cultures @ your library Interest Group
    • LSSP (Libraries Serving Special Populations) Library Services to People with Visual or Physical Disabilities that Prevent Them from Reading Standard Print Interest Group
    • LSSP Universal Access Interest Group.


Below is a list of our members running for ALA Council, President-elect, and Treasurer in the 2013 election. We encourage you to support our colleagues who share a commitment to diversity.

Many thanks to the Diversity Council reps and the respective membership coordinators for compiling the list, and especially to Taliah Abdullah for coordinating the process!


Michelle Baildon

Chair, ALA Diversity Council



  • Barbara Froling Immroth
  • Courtney L. Young



  •  Mario Gonzalez



  • Ismail Abdullahi
  • Gladys Smiley Bell
  • Elizabeth Jean Brumfield
  • Maria Taesil Hudson Carpenter
  • Min Chou
  • Gary Colmenar
  • Ann Crewdson
  • Karen E. Downing
  • Loida Garcia-Febo
  • Martin L. Garnar
  • Mel Gooch
  • Nanci Milone Hill
  • Richard L. Huffine
  • Florante Peter Ibanez
  • Alys Jordan
  • Charles Kratz
  • Christopher Kyauk
  • Chihfeng P. Lin
  • Carolyn V. Neal
  • Cristina Dominguez Ramirez
  • Celise Ann Reech-Harper
  • Larry Romans
  • Jim Teliha
  • Temitope Toriola
  • J. Linda Williams