Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Paul Bracke's picture

Technology and Access Committee MW 2013 Virtual Meeting


LITA Technology and Access Committee (LITA TAC)

ALA Midwinter Virtual Meeting

Tuesday, February 5, 2013 4:00 pm EST


Attendees. Patricia Ball, Paul Bracke, Frank Cervone, Katy Kavanagh, Abby Koehler, Weiling Lu, Karen Starr, Rachel Vacek

Not present: James Bongiovanni, Kayla Burns, Shu-Chen Tsung




Discussion of the Future of the Committee. Rachel Vacek provided an overview of meetings with Board, followed by a review of the charge (http://www.ala.org/lita/about/committees/lit-ta) and history of the group.  The group then discussed the questions surrounding the group’s mission and future.  This included uncertainty about the relationship between the committee and the LITA representatives to OITP, the Freedom to Read Foundation (FTR), and the Intellectual Freedom Committee (IFC); uncertainty about the committee’s role in policy issues, and whether there is an advocacy role for the committee. The committee agreed that it needs to gather more information on the committee’s relationships with  IFC, OITP, and FTR reps, and on the past activities of the committee before making any further recommendations or plans. Bracke will follow up with Karen Starr (OITP) and James Bongiovanni (IFC). Kavanagh will follow up with Jennifer Simon Halai (FTR). Koehler will review past minutes (http://connect.ala.org/node/139201 and http://connect.ala.org/node/65189). Reports will be completed by February 18.