Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Picture
Debra Spidal's picture

ALCTS webinar: Demand-Driven Acquisition, Part 2

When: 
Wednesday, October 3, 2012
1:00 pm to 2:00 pm, US/Central

ALCTS webinar: Demand-Driven Acquisition, Part 2

Date: October 3, 2012
All webinars are one hour in length and begin at 11am Pacific, noon Mountain, 1pm Central, and 2pm Eastern time. Part 1 will be held September 19, 2012.
 
Description:
A theoretical overview of how demand-driven acquisitions (DDA) would work as the primary means of building monographic collections and how that model would impact publishers/publishing, approval vendors, libraries, and end users. Includes an in-depth discussion of concerns and questions about the implications of DDA on the scholarly communication supply chain—publishers, approval vendors, libraries. How will DDA impact each group? How might DDA change publishing? Will approval vendors need to develop new business models? How will library collections be impacted?

Who Should Attend? Anyone with an interest in learning more about demand driven (also called patron driven) acquisitions.

Presenters:
Michael Levine-Clark, Collections Librarian, University of Denver ; Barbara Kawecki, YBP ; Rebecca Seger, Oxford University Press

*****************
Single Webinar Registration Fees:  $39 ALCTS Member; $49 Non-member; $39 International; $99 Group (a group of people that will watch it together).
Check the ALCTS Web site for discount pricing for the two part series.

For additional information and access to registrations links, please go to the following website:
http://www.ala.org/alcts/confevents/upcoming/webinar/100312

ALCTS webinars are recorded and registrants receive a link to the recording shortly following the live event.

For questions about registration, contact ALA Registration by calling 1-800-545-2433 and press 5 or email registration@ala.org. For all other questions or comments related to the webinars, contact Julie Reese, ALCTS Events Manager at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 5034 or alctsce@ala.org.