Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Easter DiGangi (non-member)'s picture


Welcome to the 2012/2013 New Members Round Table Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee.My name is Easter DiGangi, and I will be the chair of the Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee this year.  I am a Reference Librarian for the State of New Jersey Civil Service Commission, and I have been a member of ALA and NMRT since 2008.  In addition to this committee, I am also doing committee work with the Special Library Association.  In 2011, I was an Emerging Leader and this year I co-mentored Project G of the 2012 Emerging Leaders.  The Shirley Olofson Memorial Award Committee serves a very important function for NMRT.  We are charged with choosing the recipient of the Shirley Olofson Memorial award which is used to defray the costs of attending the ALA Annual Conference.  According to the NMRT Handbook "[t]he award(s) are given to current or potential NMRT members who have attended no more than five American Library Association Annual Conferences".  This award was established to honor the memory of Shirley Olofson, NMRT President for 1971-72, after her death.  Initially, funding came through donations but now it is through NMRT budget allotment.  Through the years the amount of the award and number given has varied.  The 2012 Winner was Kirby McCurtis, a Youth Librarian at Multnomah County Library in Portland, Oregon.  For more information on our committee, please check out the NMRT wiki: http://wikis.ala.org/nmrt/index.php/Shirley_Olofson_Memorial_Award_Committee.