Go to:
Discussion
Online Doc
File
Poll
Event
Meeting Request
Suggestion
Debra Spidal's picture

ALCTS webinar: Introduction to RDA

When: 
Wednesday, September 22, 2010
5:00 pm to 6:00 pm, US/Eastern

Description: This introductory webinar on the proposed cataloging rules, Resource Description and Access (RDA), will highlight the critical differences between the current cataloging rules, AACR2, and RDA. It is designed as a primer for both front line catalogers and library administrators in all types of libraries who need to learn how bibliographic and authority records will change when RDA is implemented. The session would be an excellent introduction to record changes for both original catalogers and copy catalogers.

Note: This webinar will not cover the elements of the Functional Requirements for Bibliographic Data (FRBR) on which RDA is based nor will the RDA Toolkit interface be demonstrated.

Presenter: Robert Ellett is the Catalog Librarian at the Joint Forces Staff College, Norfolk, Virginia.  He is also an instructor for the online LIS program at San Jose State University’s School of Library and Information Science and a trainer for the Program for Cooperative Cataloging.   Robert serves on the ALCTS Cataloging & Classification Section Executive Committee and is a member of the Resource Description &  Access (RDA) Planning and Programming Task Force.  He received his library degree from UNC Chapel Hill and his PhD from  the Graduate School of Computer and Information Sciences at Nova Southeastern University.       

Date: September 22, 2010

Note special time for this session only:  5pm Eastern, 4pm Central, 3pm Mountain, and 2pm Pacific Time.

This is the first in a planned series of workshops on RDA. Additional information and dates to be announced soon.

*****************

To Register, complete the online registration form at http://www.ala.org/ala/onlinelearning/reg/webinar.cfm for the session you would like to attend.

Fees:
Group Rates - ALCTS Members & Non-Members: $99
Individuals - ALCTS Members: $39; Non-Members: $49

Participants outside the United States may register at the ALCTS member rate. 

The one-time fee includes unlimited access to the webinar recording.

For questions about registration, contact Tom Ferren, ALA Senior Registration Coordinator at 1-800-545-2433, ext. 4293 or tferren@ala.org.