Warning message

ALA Connect User logins are disabled for a temporary "gray-out" period, to prevent new posts while we upgrade into the New Connect. This gray-out period will begin on March 26th, and the new site will be launched on April 25th.

Users can use Search to view public content. Logins will be reinstated and users can create new posts, upload files, etc. post launch.

Thank you for your patience in cooperation. Check out training resources and schedule at:

Or contact Julianna Kloeppel for training or Pam Akins with questions/concerns.
Go to:
Online Doc
Meeting Request
Amy West's picture

FYI | Nomination Deadline August 15, 2010 | ALA REALLY wants you to run for ALA Council



Just wanted to remind you that the ALA Nominating Committee for the 2011 election is seeking individuals to consider running for ALA Councilor-at-Large.  Anyone interested must complete a candidate biographical form at https://www.alavote.org/nominations/.  General information regarding elections, including a Councilor job description can be found at http://www.ala.org/ala/aboutala/governance/alaelection/index.cfm.


Below is the text of the press release that was issued on May 11:


The ALA 2011 Nominating Committee is soliciting nominees to run on the 2011 spring ballot for the offices of ALA President-elect and Councilor-at-large.

The Nominating Committee will select two candidates to run for President-elect and no fewer than 51 candidates for the 33 at-large Council seats to be filled in the 2011 spring election.

The President-elect will serve a three-year term: as President-elect in 2011-2012, as President in 2012-2013, and as Immediate Past President in 2013-2014.

The Councilors-at-large will serve three-year terms, beginning after the 2011 ALA Annual Conference and ending at the adjournment of the 2014 Annual Conference. 

The ALA President and Councilors also serve in corresponding roles in the ALA-Allied Professional Association [ALA-APA].  Individuals considering ALA-APA office are encouraged to consult with their employer regarding any restrictions regarding lobbying activities or service on the governing body of a 501(c)6 organization.

Members who wish to make nominations should submit the following information: nominee name; present position; institution; address; telephone; fax; and e-mail address.  Self-nominations are encouraged.  All potential nominees must complete the Potential Candidate Biographical Form available at https://www.alavote.org/nominations.  Nominations and forms must be received no later than August 13, 2010.

Nominations may be sent to any member of the 2011 Nominating Committee.  Committee members are:

  • Robert Newlen, Chair, Deputy Assistant Director, Knowledge Services Group, Library of Congress, Washington, DC.  E-mail:  rnewlen@crs.loc.gov.
  • Laurel Bliss, Fine Arts Librarian, San Diego State University Library, San Diego, CA. E-mail:lbliss@rohan.sdsu.edu.
  • Melissa Car, Director, Daniel Boone Regional Library, Columbia, MO. E-mail: mcarr@dbrl.org
  • Lucia Gonzalez, In Other Words, LLC, North Miami Beach, FL. E-mail:    luciagonzalez@bellsouth.net.
  • Cheryl Lee, Librarian, Palo Alto City Library, Palo Alto, CA. E-mail: cheryl@yahoo.com.
  • Daniel Mack, Head, Arts and Humanities Library, Pennsylvania State University, University Park,PA.  E-mail:  dmack@psu.edu.
  • Jerome Offord, Diversity Officer 7 Corporate Inclusion Manager, OCLC, Dublin, OH. E-mail:jeromeofford@aol.com.
  • Laura Pearle, Librarian, Hackley School, Tarrytown, NY. E-mail: lpearle@gmail.com.
  • Carlen Ruschoff, Director, IT & Technical Services, University of Maryland, College Park, MD. E-mail: ruschoff@umd.edu.

To encourage diversity and leadership development, the Committee will refrain from nominating any current Councilors for election to another term.  However, the Committee encourages all current Councilors who wish to continue their service to the Association to file as petition candidates.  Petitions will be available from Lois Ann Gregory-Wood, Council Secretariat, ALA, 50 E. Huron, Chicago, IL60611, Email: lgregory@ala.org, or during the 2010 Annual Conference or 2011 Midwinter Meeting.  Petitions require 25 signatures for names to be included on the 2011 ballot.  Online petitions may also be created by going to https://www.ala.org/Template.cfm?Section=Home&Template=/Security/Login.cfm.