AASL Affiliate Assembly
ALA Midwinter 2015
February 1, 2015
Hilton Chicago, Waldorf Room
9:00 am- 1:00 pm

Carrie Turner, chairwoman, introduced and thanked the sponsors for the breakfast, Marlene Woo-Lun & Kathryn Suarez from Libraries Unlimited. First time attendees were welcomed.

Freedom to Read Foundation Board Member Helen Adams provided updates on law suits and challenges and outlined organizational benefits.

AASL President Terri Grief outlined the upcoming Leadership Conference to be held prior to ALA Annual in San Francisco. "Ask Me How...Buttons" School Librarians Transform Learning were distributed and explained.

AASL Executive Director Sylvia K. Norton gave a progress report on the Strategic Plan and reported on the status of the concerns and commendations. Gail Dickinson, Past President, was unable to give a report.

AASL President-Elect Leslie Preddy thanked the membership for the community service that they give back to AASL by volunteering.

Carrie Turner reviewed the timeline for the Concerns and Commendation Process. Reports are due to Regional Representatives on May 15 and due to her by May 30. She reminded all to include contact information on the forms.

The National Conference Committee, Deb Logan, Kathy Lowe and committee gave an update on the conference in Columbus, Ohio. One promotion is to bring an administrator for free for each paid registration, each day will open with a General Session and there will be many networking opportunities. Plans are being made for an Idea Lab. Early registration will begin in February.

Hilda Weisburg, Advocacy Committee chair, reported on a multitude of pieces including Essential Links. She wants Affiliate Assembly members to look at the advocacy page and make comments and or recommendations.

Jessica Gillis reported on the plans for School Library Month. There will be advertisements on the SLM webpage Julianne Moore is spokesperson this year.

Ann Martin reported that the Publications Advisory Group is making plans to publish books, ebooks and graphics apart from ALA. She outlined the seven step process for publications.

Legislative Committee chair, Jay Bansbach updated the group on the reauthorization of ESEA that is in draft form. They are gathering data from grant recipients.

Awards Committee chair, Carolyn Vibbert spoke about the AASL awards. She encouraged everyone to go online to the Awards List to check out the awards that are available, some go unfilled.

Meg Featheringham reported on the new website that was just launched at Knowledgeguest.aasl.org.

Lori Donovan, AASL Affiliate Assembly Chair –Elect announced the nomination and election process for the affiliate chair position.

The members caucused within the regions.

Ken Stewart reported on the Harwood Activity and will compile responses from the discussion held on Saturday, January 31 concerning the Leadership Conference to be held in San Francisco this summer.

One candidate for ALA President attended and presented a speech and asked for support in the upcoming election.

Lori Donovan announced that one candidate, Mona Batchelor, had completed and returned a nomination petition.

Carrie Turner made final announcements: The AASL Affiliate Assembly Leadership Conference will be Friday, June 26, 2015 in San Francisco from 9 a.m. to 4:40 p.m. The Affiliate Assembly Coordinating Team meeting will be Friday, June 26, 9:00 a.m.-11:00 a.m., Affiliate Assembly I will be Friday, June 26, 7:00 p.m.-9:00 p.m. and Affiliate Assembly II will be Sunday, June 28, 9:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m.

The meeting adjourned at 1:00 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Juanita Jameson
Affiliate Assembly Recording Secretary

Region I			Region II		
Pam Harland	NHSLMA		Michael Nailor	PA School Lib	delegate
Jessica Gilcrest	NHSLMA	delegate	Eileen Kern	PA School Lib	Region II Dir
Merlyn Miller	VSLA	delegate	Jay Bansbach	MD School Lib	delegate
Amy Short	MSLA	delegate	Hilda Weisburg	NJASL	guest
Anita Celluci	MSLA		Jill Leinung	Section School Lib. NYLA	delegate
Judi Paradis	MSLA		Karen Sperrazza	NYLA/SSL	
Jennifer Reed	MSLA		Melissa Jacobs	NYCSLS	guest
Susan Ballard	NHSLMA	guest	Charlie Leckenby	CAL	guest
Kathy Lowe	MSLA	guest	Susan Polos	NYLA/SSL	guest
			Sue Bartle	NYLA/SSL	delegate
Region III			Region IV		
Angela L. Green	IL Sch Lib.Media Assoc	delegate	Eileen Godwin	VA ASL	delegate
Kristy Johnson	MO Assoc. of Sch Lib	delegate	Carolyn Vibbert	VA ASL	delegate
Lysha Thompson	MO Assoc. of Sch Lib	delegate	Joann Absi	NCSLMA	
Linda Weatherspoon	MASL Region III	alternate	Joanna Gerakios	NCSLMA	delegate
Ben Moore	AISLE (Indiana)	delegate	Walter Carmichael	NCSLMA	delegate
Liz Deskins	OELMA	alternate	Kathy Carroll	Director	
Lisa Brakel	MAME MI Assoc for Media in Ed	delegate	Lora Black	TN ASL	delegate
Gwenn Marchesano	MAME	delegate	Mindy Nichols	TN ASL	delegate

Stephanie Stieglitz	ISLMA Illinois	delegate	Mona Batchelor	TASL TN	Reg. Rep.
Michelle Maniaci	WEMTA Wis	delegate	Lisa Hughes	KASL	delegate
Maegan Heindel	WEMTA Wis	alternate	James Allen	KASL	delegate
Angela Wojtecki	OELMA	delegate	Elizabeth Burns	ODU	
Gigi Shook	AISLE (Indiana)	alternate	Lori Donovan	VAASL	
Becky Johnson	Iowa ASL	delegate	Diana T. Carr	SCASL	delegate
Susan Yutzey	OELMA	alternate	Jennifer Tazerski	SCASL	delegate
Region V			Region VI		
Michelle Jarrett	FAME	delegate	Calypso Gilstrap	OKSL	alternate
Lisa Hathcock	AASL	alternate	Carolyn Gray	TLA Bd of Dir	
Charlene Picheloup	LASL	delegate	Dorcas Hand	TLA	guest
Stephanie A. Jones	GLA	alternate	Helen Adams	WEMTA	guest
			Julie Briggs	TASL TX	delegate
			Lori Bush	ArASL	delegate
			Devona J. Pendergrass	ArASL Bd of Dir	
			Kathryn Lewis	candidate for Reg VI	guest
Region VII			Region VIII		
Robbie Nickel	NSCLS Nev	delegate	Craig Seasholes	WLMA	delegate
Liz Dodds	CSLA	delegate	Susan Nickel	NA	
Beth Olshensky	CSLA	delegate	Susan Stone	OASL Reg Rep	delegate
James Allen	KASL	alternate			

Region IX				
Jennisen Lucas	Wyoming	delegate		
Lori Clark- Erickson	Wyoming	delegate		
Betty Meyer	Nebraska	delegate		
Ken Stewart	Kansas			
Marla Wigton	Kansas	delegate		
Nancy McFarlin	Kansas	delegate		
David Sanger	Colorado	delegate		
Juanita Jameson	Kansas	AA Secretary		
Carrie Turner	Nebraska	AA Chair		